project 3_3: drawing machines

this project has intrigued me more so than others, but I also felt stuck for some time.

I came across ADA, the kinetic sculpture/ drawing machine by Karina Smigla-Bobinski:

 

— I love this, this is perfect as an analogue kinetic machine, how it is animated and I really like the scale, the bounce.

 

I also wanted to do something that uses my own boding as drawing machine, thought about putting something in my shoes; remembered how I used my keys to marks a surface of encaustic wax and later fill this with differently coloured wax. Two days ago I finally realised that I could use my dress pockets and create a little envelope with some graphite or charcoal ends to rub off as I move, the pocket moves, the envelope moves (I think the inspiration was a raspberry that had fallen into my pocket and stained my mobile phone).

I took a loose double-page of my sketchbook, folded it and placed a short piece of thick graphite stick and a small piece of compressed charcoal in it. I carried it for about ten hours, moved about, went to an Alexander session, went shopping, set at my desk, on my bed, slept, at times heard the paper rustle, at times surprised myself went my hands reached into my pockets, wasn’t sure if I should add other things to that left pocket (I didn’t). I had a peek after six hours and realised that I was in the process of producing my pocket’s Rorschach Test: a mirror image of marks, amidst many folds.

When I take it out, I decide to place it on white paper and photograph, in detail and at an angle.

This was brief and fascinating: I am surprised how many marks there are, but also that the folds are more dominant (I hadn’t anticipated that, also, that of course the some folds were intentional: I placed them, others were part of the machine process too.). This can be repeated: with other markmaking tools, or precisely the same; to record what I am doing purposefully and where the pocket envelope just travels along; I could ask others to drawing machine for me.

What is in the interpretation: is this the unconscious? is there meaning? does machines produce meaning? or is it solely the author who looks back and feels happier if she knows there is a meaning, a point to it?

img_3478img_3481img_3479img_3480

 

One thought on “project 3_3: drawing machines”

Leave a comment